2016 School Board Meetings

January13thOnly one meeting due to holidays
February3rd & 17th 
March2nd & 16th 
April6th & 20th 
May4th & 18th 
June1st & 15th 
July20th one meeting due to Superintendent's Leadership Conference
August3rd & 17th 
September7th & 21st 
October5th & 19th 
November2nd & 16th 
December7th & 21st 

All meetings are held the first and third Wednesday of every month at 7 p.m. in the Assumption Parish School Board Media Center @ 4901 Highway 308 Napoleonville unless otherwise noted.
*Any changes in meeting dates or times are posted on the outside of the school board building.

May 4, 2016
Wednesday, May 4th, 2016


Assumption Parish Media Center

Napoleonville, Louisiana

May 4, 2016



The Assumption Parish School Board met in Regular Session on Wednesday, May 4, 2016, at 7:00 p.m. at Assumption Media Center, Napoleonville, LA with President, Doris Dugas, presiding.


PRESENT:   Honoray Lewis, Ward 1, Lee Meyer, Ward 2, Andrea Barras, Ward 3, Electa Fletcher Mickens, Ward 4, Daniel Washington, Ward 6, John Beck, Ward 7, Jessica Ourso, Ward 8, Doris Dugas, Ward 9


ABSENT: Larry Howell, Ward 5


The meeting was opened in prayer led by Daniel Washington, Executive Committee Meeting followed by the Pledge of Allegiance led by Honoray Lewis, Vice President. 


Adoption of Agenda

On motion of Mr. Beck, seconded by Mr. Washington and unanimously carried the Board adopted the agenda as amended.


Consent Agenda

a) Approve minutes of  April 27,  2016 board meeting

b) Approve addendum items


On motion of Mr. Beck, seconded by Ms. Barras unanimously carried the Board adopted the consent agenda.


Reports and Recognition

a) The Board recognized and honored the parish primary and middle school physical fitness team.

b) The Board recognized and honored NMS Lady Eagles softball team as co-parish champions and PPMS Lady Bulldogs as co-parish and tournament champions.  The Board also recognized NMS boys baseball as parish and tournament champions.

c) The Board recognized and honored Principal of the Year, Wanda Templet and Teacher of the Year for 2015-2016 at their respective schools and elementary, middle and high school teachers in the parish.  Teacher of the year:  Alaina Paine, AHS, Franki Lambert, PPM, Halli Thibodaux, LPS.  School winners:  Katherine Blanchard, BRP, Nikki Martin, LMS, Dionne Esneault, NMS, Jamie Aucoin, NPS, Jennifer Comeaux, PPP.

d) The Board recognized and honored the AHS boys powerlifting team as State Champions and individual girls powerlifting.

e) The Board received a presentation from Joe Harrison and Bobby Marcello of Colonial Life.

Facilities and Grounds

f) On motion of Mr. Lewis, seconded by Ms. Barras and unanimously carried the Board authorized the Superintendent to request bids for the LMS Cafeteria roof replacement and renovations.


a) On motion of Ms. Barras, seconded by Ms. Ourso and unanimously carried the Board awarded bids to the following bidders for food (including mild & bread), paper goods, cleaning supplies/chemicals and small equipment for the period of July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017:

Food - Diamond Foods Distributor Inc (Jefferson, LA)

Milk - LaFleur Dairy Products, Inc (Morgan City/Houma, LA)

Bread - Flowers Baking Co of Baton Rouge, LLC (Baton Rouge, LA)

Paper Goods and Cleaning Supplies - Economical Janitorial (New Orleans, LA)

Small Equipment - Economical Janitorial (New Orleans, LA)



By unanimous consent the Board adjourned at 8:00 p.m.

< Return to previous page